Choose Your Own Adventure!

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

A Brief History

On May 23, 2006, Chooseco published an updated version of The Abominable Snowman as the first of their reissues of the Choose Your Own Adventure gamebooks from the early 1980s so dear to this author’s heart.

Digging Deeper

Bantam Books published the original series from 1979 (the year of this author’s birth) to 1998.  As such, I grew up reading these books and still have most of them on shelves in my personal library.  If you have children aged 10 to 14, I strongly encourage you to share these volumes with them as a way of getting them interested in literature and also getting them to think critically about choices and consequences.

The Cave of Time by Edward Packard, the first book in the series

If you are unfamiliar with them, as a brief explanation of what they consist of, imagine reading a novel in which you are the star and periodically you are faced with a difficult decision.  You are then given a choice as to how to proceed in the novel by selecting a page to turn to in order to continue the novel down a particular path.  As with real life, a poor decision could abruptly conclude your adventure.  Moreover, because these books have multiple paths, you can in effect read the same book multiple times and each time have a unique adventure.

If you liked this article and would like to receive notification of new articles, please feel welcome to subscribe to History and Headlines by entering your email address at the top right of this page or like us on Facebook.

Your readership is much appreciated!

Historical Evidence

Click here for a “choose your own adventure” experience on this site!

Or, to do so elsewhere, you can consider purchasing:

Montgomery, R. A.  The Abominable Snowman (Choose Your Own Adventure #1).  Chooseco, 2006.


About Author

Dr. Zar

Dr. Zar graduated with a B.A. in French and history, a Master’s in History, and a Ph.D. in History. He currently teaches history in Ohio.